View Latest Scores

Sussex CCC Blog

SCCC Banner image

Sussex County Cricket Club 175 years not out!


Our wonderful county cricket club is celebrating its 175th birthday this year. Sussex CCC is the oldest county cricket club, playing its maiden first-class cricket match at Lords on the 10th and 11th June 1839, losing to the MCC by four runs.

Formed to represent the whole of the county, but originally called the Brighton Cricket Club; the name was sensibly changed to Sussex in 1839.

We had to wait 164 years before we won our first major trophy, but we finally claimed the County Championship for the first time in 2003. We repeated the feat in 2006 and 2007, and also won limited overs Championships in 1963, 1964, 1978, 1982, 1986, 2006, 2008, and 2009, and the T20 Tournament in 2009.

The County Ground at Hove has been the Club’s main venue since 1872, although we have played in the past at Eastbourne and Hastings. These days, we only use Arundel and Horsham as outgrounds.

Plenty of famous players have made their name at Sussex: George Cox Sr, the Langridge brothers, “Lord” Ted Dexter, John Snow, Maurice Tate, Ken Suttle, Jim Parks and his father, and Tony Greig among them.

To celebrate the amazing achievement of reaching 175 years, we’re holding a host of events throughout the year; including schools’ cricket competitions, a member’s lunch, and a celebration dinner in August.

We’re also producing a beautiful celebratory book, limited to 175 numbered copies. A smaller, pamphlet version will also be published later this year.

Our official birthday will be on the 1st June, which is the first day of the LVCC game against Nottinghamshire. We will be making a special effort on that day to involve the whole Sussex Cricket Family.

After all, we won’t be 175 again!

Main Sponsors

Official Club Partners