View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

AGM: President and Board Directors confirmed at Sussex AGM


John Abbott was appointed as the new President of Sussex Cricket on Tuesday evening at Hove

John Abbott was appointed as the new President for Sussex Cricket Limited AGM last night, held at The 1st Central County Ground, Hove in succession to David Bowden.

John Barclay, Simon Crundwell and Martin Richards were the only nominations for three Board vacancies and were each duly appointed as Non-Executive Directors, for three years to 31st March 2020.

Martin Richards, a former Chief Constable of Sussex Police, takes the place of Jim May who stood down from the Board after over eight years as Chairman.

After the formal part of the AGM when Individual Members and Affiliated Club Members approved the 2016 Accounts, an open forum was held.

Members raised points and asked questions of Chairman Jim May, Chief Executive Rob Andrew, Director of Cricket Keith Greenfield, Head Coach Mark Davis and Captain Luke Wright. A number of interesting topics were discussed including prospects for the forthcoming year and the future shape of cricket in England and Wales.

Jim May, the outgoing Chairman said, “I am very fortunate to have been part of a transformational period for Sussex and I hand on the baton with great confidence to my successor and to Rob Andrew, our new Chief Executive.

“Luke Wright will be leading a strong Sussex squad into the new season and the integrated Sussex Cricket organisation is very well placed to adapt to whatever changes take place in English cricket.”

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors