View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

AWARDS: End of Season Awards presented at Hove


The recipients of the 2016 End of Season Awards, from L-R: Stuart Whittingham, Tymal Mills, Steve Magoffin, Colin Bowley, Jofra Archer

The traditional Sussex CCC End of Season Awards were presented on Saturday evening in the Focus Group Boundary Rooms at The 1st Central County Ground, Hove, in front of members, supporters, staff and the playing squad.

Evergreen seamer Steve Magoffin, who took 62 wickets at an average of 20.14 in the Specsavers County Championship, walked away with the main Player of the Season Award for the fourth time in five years.

Magoffin has taken 329 first-class wickets for Sussex since making his debut at Sussex and won the award in 2012 and 2013, before sharing with Ed Joyce in 2014, and now 2016.

His best figures of the season came in Sussex’s last home match against Worcestershire, as he took 5 for 32 on his way to ten wickets in the match.

Jofra Archer was named Young Player of the Year for his fantastic breakthrough season. He made his debut in the Tour Match with Pakistan, and went on to take 23 County Championship wickets with a best of 4 for 31 coming against Leicestershire.

He also took 5 for 42 in the Royal London One-Day Cup match with Somerset at Taunton before penning a new contract at Hove until at least the end of next season after his sensational early form.

The Most Improved Player of the Year Award went to fast bowler Stuart Whittingham. It was the 22 year-old’s debut season as a professional and made his debut against Derbyshire in his hometown of Derby back in May. His best figures of 4 for 58 came in the match against Glamorgan at Hove. He has also put pen to paper on a new deal at Hove, until at least the end of the 2018.

The Performance of the Year Award went to Ed Joyce for his fantastic career-best knock of 250 against Derbyshire. His masterful knock came from 327 deliveries and included 34 fours and 2 sixes, with one of the maximums bringing up his double-century. Joyce was also named as recipient of the Chairman’s Award, a recognition made personally by Sussex’s Chairman Jim May.

The ‘Agony to Ecstasy Award’, which this season encompassed the Jointing Technologies Champagne Moment of the Season, was presented to Tymal Mills in recognition of his journey from near-retirement from the game, to playing for England in the T20 format against Sri Lanka.

It was also combined with the ball that he got Chris Gayle out with at Hove during the NatWest T20 Blast victory over Somerset as the Champagne Moment of the Season.

Finally, the Team Man of the Year gong was awarded to Player Services Manager Colin Bowley for his selfless contributions in his role with the club.

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors