View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

DISABILITY CRICKET: Inaugural Sussex Disability Cricket Awards


The first ever Sussex Disability Cricket Awards were held at The PROBIZ County Ground on Friday night. Hosted by Matt Parsons (Head Coach of Sussex Learning Disability and Hearing Impaired squads), the event saw some of Sussex’ finest talent come together to showcase the achievements of 2012 both on an individual and team basis. The attendees included three Sussex players who we are delighted to announce have made it into the England ranks. Brandon Winn and Jonathan Davies have been invited to join up with the England Learning Disability Development Programme and Jonathan Dakic has made into the full England LD squad. All these players have come through the pathway and all have become qualified coaches during that time meaning they are now excellent role models for younger players.

In additional to increased school and club activity for disabled young people, new representative county squads have been formed including the Hearing Impaired / Deaf squad and the Under 18 Hardball Learning Disability squad. This complements the Senior and Junior Visually Impaired squads and the Under 14 Learning Disability squad. Much development has once again been facilitated by Farnrise Construction who continue to be lead community partners. Matt Kavanagh-Clark of Farnrise was present on the night to hand out the awards.

Cricket Development Manager Roger Newman said: “This remains an extremely important area of development for the Sussex Cricket Board and this is evidenced by another year of significant progress.”

Winners on the night were:

U14 LD squad:
Batsman of the Year: Benjamin Hobson
Bowler of the Year: Lauren Griffiths
Most Improved Player: Finlay Hodges

U18 LD Squad:
Batsmen of the Year: Henry Codrington
Bowler of the Year: Charlie Thomas
Most Improved Player: David Odulana

Junior HI/Deaf Squad:
Batsmen of the Year: Paighton Gibson
Bowler of the Year: Matthew Fox
Most Improved Player: Sam Ratcliffe
(VI awards to be announced at later date on completion of season)

Pictured above are: Matt Kavanagh-Clark and Finlay Hodges; and from left to right below: Jonathan Davies, Matt Kavanagh-Clark, Brandon Winn and Jonathan Dakic.

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors