View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

ENGLAND: Jordan and Mills included in England squad for T20 with Pakistan


England selectors this week included Sussex's Chris Jordan and Tymal Mills in a 14-man squad for the NatWest IT20 match against Pakistan, which takes place at Emirates Old Trafford on Wednesday September 7 (6.30pm start).

The squad includes nine players that helped England to an eight wicket victory over Sri Lanka in July at the Ageas Bowl.

Durham pair of Ben Stokes and Mark Wood return. Stokes is in line to make his first IT20 appearance since the ICC World T20 final in February against the West Indies and Wood, who has returned to full fitness at international level during the current Royal London One-Day International series against Pakistan, will be looking to add to his solitary T20 cap, which came against New Zealand in June 2015.

Captain Eoin Morgan can also call on the experience of prolific batsman Joe Root, who is named in the squad alongside all-rounder Moeen Ali and Nottinghamshire’s Alex Hales. All three were rested for the Sri Lanka match earlier in the summer.

Hampshire pairing of Liam Dawson and James Vince miss out along with Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan and Yorkshire’s Jonny Bairstow.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “It is excellent to see the progress we are making in white ball cricket across both formats. The IT20 international against Pakistan will give the squad another opportunity to measure their development.

“The squad has an exciting feel with exceptional talent throughout. We are delighted to welcome back Ben Stokes and Mark Wood into the squad. Both are world-class players and are an important part of our long-term plans to become the best side in the world.

“It is testament to the excellent work being nurtured in the county structure and through the England Lions, that there is a depth of quality pushing the nucleus of the current group.

“On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining match in Manchester.”

England T20 Squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
Sam Billings (Kent)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Tymal Mills (Sussex)

Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
David Willey (Yorkshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)

NatWest IT20 Fixture:

Wednesday September 7 IT20 vs Pakistan, 6.30pm start, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors