View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

GROUNDS TEAM: More recognition for Sussex's Ground Staff


Sussex's Head Groundsman Andy Mackay receives Commendation Certificate from Simon Storey, CEO of Derbyshire CCC

Sussex’s Grounds Team were again rewarded for their success at the ECB’s Groundsman of the Year Awards in Derby on Friday.

Andy Mackay and his team, fresh from winning the Headland Amenity Cricket Grounds Team of the Year Award at the Institute of Groundsmanship (IOG) Industry Awards at the start of November, were commended in the ‘One-Day’ category.

Every pitch is rated at the end of the match by each of the umpires with these ratings used as the basis for making the awards.

Roll of Honour

Four-day. Winner: Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire). Runner-up: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Commended: Neil Godrich (The 3aaa County Ground, Derbyshire); Simon Williamson (The Spitfire Ground St Lawrence, Kent).

One-day. Winner: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Runner-up: Nigel Gray (Ageas Bowl, Hampshire). Commended: Steve Birks (Trent Bridge, Nottinghamshire), Andy Mackay (The County Ground, Sussex), Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire).

Outgrounds. Winner: Bill Clutterbuck (Guildford, Surrey). Runner-up: John Dodds (Scarborough, Yorkshire). Commended: Stuart Kerrison (Colchester, Essex) and David Summersell (Uxbridge, Middlesex).

MCC Universities. Winner: Paul Derrick (Durham Racecourse, Durham MCCU). Runner-up: John Moden (Fenners, Cambridge MCCU).

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors