View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

ICC WT20: Luke Wright named in Team of the Tournament


Sussex’s Luke Wright has been named in the ICC World Team of the Tournament for the World Twenty20 which concluded yesterday in Sri Lanka.

Wright, who scored 193 runs in the tournament, fell agonisingly short of a century against Afghanistan in England’s opening match as he smashed 99 off only 55 balls against the minnows in a big 116 run win. He was also in fine form against New Zealand in the Super Eights stage of the tournament with a knock of 76 off only 43 deliveries.

There was also Sussex interest in the Womens Team of the Tournament as England’s wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor was named alongside three other English players. They were defeated in yesterday’s final by Australia in Colombo.

ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 Men's Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Chris Gayle (West Indies)
Shane Watson (Australia)
Virat Kohli (India)
Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka - captain)
Luke Wright (England)
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand - wicketkeeper)
Marlon Samuels (West Indies)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)
12th Man: Suresh Raina (India)

ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 Women's Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Charlotte Edwards (England - captain)
Meg Lanning (Australia)
Poonam Raut (India)
Laura Marsh (England)
Sarah Taylor (England - wicketkeeper)
Lisa Sthalekar (Australia)
Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)
Julie Hunter (Australia)
Ellyse Perry (Australia)
Katherine Brunt (England)
Erin Bermingham (New Zealand)
12th Player: Jess Cameron (Australia)

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors