View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

LG ICC AWARDS 2013: Joyce and Taylor in the running for awards


Ed Joyce in action for Sussex earlier this year

Sussex skipper Ed Joyce and newly named Womens’ captain Sarah Taylor have both been shortlisted for honours at this year’s LG ICC Awards.

Joyce has been nominated for the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year Award and will be up against fellow Irishman Kevin O’Brien, Kyle Coetzer of Scotland and Northamptonshire, and Afghanistan’s Nawroz Mangal.

Taylor, who was named as Sussex’s new captain recently, has been shortlisted for the Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year along with Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin and Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies, whilst she’ll also be up against Meg Lanning of Australia and Suzie Bates of New Zealand.

Based on the period between 7th August 2012 and 25th August 2013, the LG ICC Awards 2013 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012, the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 held in India, the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 held in England and Wales, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series.

England’s James Anderson, South Africa’s Hashim Amla and Australia captain Michael Clarke have all been short-listed for the top honours. They’re in the running for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, with the awards to be announced in a TV show that will be broadcast on Saturday 14th December.

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors