View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

OSCAs: Young Volunteer Award at Sussex Club


Andrew Strauss, Jonny Bairstow and Charlotte Edwards joined a number of former England cricketers including Michael Vaughan and Mike Gatting to recognise the tireless efforts of grass-roots volunteers at the 10th NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) on Monday, with the Young Volunteer Award going to a Sussex youngster.

Carl Tupper from West Wittering Cricket Club picked up the Young Volunteer Award from England’s Jonny Bairstow. Carl has made a huge contribution to saving the club through fundraising, increasing membership and driving the development of the junior section alongside taking on the club captaincy three years ago at the age of just 19.

Sussex Cricket Board's Cricket Development Manager Steve Feazey, who covers the West Sussex region and was also in attendance, said "It was great to see Carl receiving his award from Jonny Bairstow at the National OSCA’s on Monday at Lord's. He was quite shocked when his name was read out but when you hear about what Carl has achieved and developed at West Wittering Cricket Club it really isn’t a surprise that he has been recognised for his efforts.

"It is vitally important that we recognise the hard work and countless hours that our committed volunteers put in at the grassroots level, whether it be at a national event, a presentation evening or a simple ‘well done’.

"Carl should be very proud of what he has achieved and I hope that Carl’s success and dedication will inspire others to start volunteering at their local cricket club and give something back to the game we all love."

BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator Jonathan Agnew hosted the lunch at Lord’s attended by more than 400 people who came together from across the recreational game to celebrate achievements linked to volunteering in cricket.

Paying tribute to the winners, Mike Gatting said: “Volunteers play a vital role in ensuring that our grass-roots game can continue to flourish and these awards are a fantastic way of recognising their contribution. I would like to thank each and every volunteer, young and old across the country who has given up time over the last 12 months to help their local cricket club.

“It’s thanks to the tireless work and self-sacrifice of volunteers that pitches get prepared, pavilions maintained and our games are scored and umpired. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners – you are the unsung heroes of our game and your awards are richly deserved.”

For more information plus videos from the 2012 NatWest OSCAs, please click HERE

NatWest OSCAs 2012 winners
NatWest CricketForce: Amy Rowlinson, Kent
Outstanding Contribution to Disability Cricket: David Townley
Building Partnerships: Paul Daniels, Kent
Young Volunteer: Carl Tupper, Sussex

Officiating, Umpires and Scorers: Lorraine Elgar, Kent
Behind the Scenes: Jonathan Jackson, Herefordshire
Leagues and Boards: Phil Williams, Warwickshire
Lifetime Achiever: Frank Wilkinson, Morecambe Cricket Club, Lancashire

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors