View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

PRIOR: Matt named England Men's Cricketer of the Year 2012 /2013


The ECB lastnight announced that Sussex's Matt Prior had been named as England Men’s Cricketer of the Year for 2012/2013.

He was honoured, along with three other winners, at a special dinner held in the Long Room at Lord’s lastnight which was hosted by ECB and Brit Insurance, the sponsor of all England’s cricket teams.

The awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summer’s domestic international programme and encompassing the recent winter tours. Katherine Brunt won the Women's Cricketer of the Year Award, whilst Essex and England Under 19s wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Foakes won the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award. England Disability Cricketer of the Year award was made to Matthew Dean from England’s Visually Impaired squad.

Matt Prior overcame competition from last year’s winner James Anderson and England Test and ODI captain Alastair Cook to win the Men’s Award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media.

He is the first England wicketkeeper to win this award after enjoying an excellent year behind the stumps and with the bat - scoring seven Test half-centuries overall and a match-saving century in England’s most recent Test Match against New Zealand in Auckland.

England pace bowler Katherine Brunt won the Women’s award for a third time and saw off competition from Sussex duo Holly Colvin and Sarah Taylor, as well as England captain Charlotte Edwards.

Matt Prior’s unbeaten century in the recent Auckland Test Match which helped England draw the Test series against New Zealand also won the TwelfthMan Cricketing Moment of the Year Award, voted for by members of ECB’s TwelfthMan fan community on Facebook.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: “There have some memorable individual performances across all our England teams over the past year - a 12 month period which saw the England Men’s team win a Test Series in India for the first time in 28 years and the England Women complete a clean sweep of four NatWest series wins at home last summer.

“We congratulate the winners, Matt, Katherine, Matthew and Ben, on their individual achievements and thank all those who took part in the judging process as well as our team sponsor Brit, and the MCC, for their help in staging our annual awards ceremony.”

Everyone at Sussex sends their congratulations to Matt on this fantastic award...! He is pictured above with Katherine Brunt and Matthew Dean

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors