View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

STYRIS: Winner of the Walter Lawrence Trophy


Scott Styris has rewritten the history books in sensational style in winning this year’s Walter Lawrence Trophy, awarded for the fastest hundred of the season, with a 37-ball century for Sussex.

Styris smashed no fewer than 9 sixes and 5 fours in his unbeaten hundred against Gloucestershire Gladiators in the Friends Life t20 quarter-final at The PROBIZ.

The 37-year-old Australian-born Kiwi, who also wins £5,000, scored 38 in one 8-ball over (30 runs coming from the bat, and 8 from extras), and advanced from 50 to 100 in 13 deliveries. Joining  the Sharks this year for FL t20 games following seasons with Middlesex, Durham and Essex, Styris also chipped in with a wicket and a run-out to propel his side into the FL t20 Finals Day with a 39-run victory. He is the first Sussex batsman to win the Trophy since Martin Speight in 1992.

On receiving the Trophy the veteran all-rounder, who has represented New Zealand in 29 Tests, 188 One-Day Internationals and 31 T20 Internationals, said: ‘I am absolutely delighted to have won the Walter Lawrence Trophy this year. I was told by the Sussex boys that it is something that players cherish and everybody tries to win each season.

“I had no clue when I went out to bat against Gloucestershire at Hove that I was going to win the trophy but this is a nice little reward for getting a century and I was very pleased to be able to help to get the side through to Finals Day. A 37 ball century was far beyond anything I expected definitely.”
“It was good fun and any time you get into that situation when you have a bit of a free licence in the last few overs its nice to get a few in the middle.”
“I have had a look at some of the other guys who have won it, players like Ian Botham and Viv Richards and from a New Zealand perspective Chris Cairns and Ken Rutherford, who are all good strikers of the ball, so I am very pleased to have my name on the Walter Lawrence Trophy.”

His is seen above receiving the Walter Lawrence Trophy from Michael Brooks, who is the Director of the Walter Lawrence Trophy (Photo: Alain Lockyer)

You can see highlights of Scott's famous knock, thanks to Sussex TV, by clicking HERE

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors