View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

WOMEN & GIRLS: Brighton College U15's crowned National Indoor Champions again!


Brighton College have won the Lady Taverners Under 15's Schools Indoor Competition for a second year in a row at Lord's.

As per last year, the team progressed to Finals Day undefeated although they were tested more at the County Finals this year which highlights the strength of girls’ cricket in Sussex.  

The Finals Day began with Brighton playing Basseleg, the Welsh Champions. Despite an early wobble the College’s strength in depth meant a competitive total of 80 for 5 was set. Sophie Philpots and Jackie George helped to get the team reach a respectable total. A wicket off the first ball of the innings set the tone for a commanding bowling performance for the team. Basseleg had no response to the pressure and were bowled out for 47.

The next match saw Brighton restrict three times National Winners Ilkley to 82 all out. Once the College had worked out how to combat Ilkley’s tactics of tip and run, the fielders built lots of pressure and wickets started to fall regularly. A stunning one handed catch from Anna Harris was the highlight of the fielding innings. In response, Harris and Lucy D’Orsaneo started well and Nancy Harman then helped push Brighton towards the target. Some strong hitting from Sophie Philpots and excellent running from Katie O'Nunain helped the College surpass the total with an over to spare.

The crunch match against Tudor Grange was a nervous affair until Brighton dismissed their best player and the rest of the team then crumbled. Great fielding from the whole team was the key with Megan Spurin contributing with an excellent run out.

The final match was against Millfield and victory would see Brighton take the title. Polly Milson and Nancy Harman built the foundations for another huge total and Brighton finished on 96 for 5. Millfield batted well and played some impressive shots but Brighton were on fire with the ball, and their fielding brought several direct hit run outs. Florence Fleming worked well at backward square leg to help dry up the scoring options.

Millfield fell 25 runs short as Captain Lucy D’Orsaneo finished the Finals Day with a sharp stumping.  Brighton were crowned National Champions for the second year, and are now undefeated in two years winning over 30 matches in a row.

This makes Brighton College the top school out of over 750 schools that entered the competition this year. The team were presented with their trophy by former England Captain Mike Gatting, and current Sussex and England star Sarah Taylor joined the girls for celebratory photos.

Finals Day
v Basseleg won by 33 runs
v Ilkley Grammar School won by 2 wickets
v Tudor Grange won by 27 runs
v Millfield won by 25 runs

Squad: Lucy D’Orsaneo (captain), Jacqueline George, Anna Harris, Katie O'Nunain, Sophie Philpots, Nancy Harman, Polly Milsom, Megan Spurin and Florence Fleming (pictured above with Sarah Taylor)

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors