View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

WOMENS: Sussex's Georgia Elwiss and Sarah Taylor included in England Ashes ODI Squad


Sarah Taylor in action for Sussex earlier this season (Photo: Don Miles)

Sussex's Georgia Elwiss and Sarah Taylor have both been included in the England Women’s One-Day International (ODI) squad for the three Women’s Ashes Royal London ODIs to be played against Australia this month.

Captain Charlotte Edwards will be aiming to lead England to a third consecutive Women’s Ashes series victory this summer, with a very experienced ODI squad named for the first three fixtures of the multi-format series, and the Sussex pair will be hoping too to play a part in the T20 element of the Ashes, particularly when the series comes to The County Ground on Friday 28th August.

All-rounder Elwiss will return to international duty for the first time since the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh last year. She has forced her way back into England contention following a series of impressive performances for the England Women’s Academy against their Australian counterparts, the “Shooting Stars”, in Dubai at the start of the year – a tour which saw her score 316 runs at an average of 63 and take five wickets in four 50-over matches and two T20s.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Taylor is one of the more experienced ODI players amongst the squad, having featured for England 95 times. Between the 14 players, there are 807 ODI caps, with Edwards (185), Kent team-mate Lydia Greenway (121) and Nottinghamshire’s Jenny Gunn (125) all having represented England over a hundred times in 50-over cricket. Vice-captain, Heather Knight (Berkshire), is also in line to win her 50th ODI cap in the first Royal London ODI in Taunton.

ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said, “I don’t think it’s too dramatic a statement to say that the 2015 Women’s Ashes contest is possibly the most eagerly anticipated series in the history of international women’s cricket.

“The pace at which the women’s game is evolving at the moment is extraordinary. This summer for the first time ever, we will see two fully professional international women’s teams in action, with live broadcast coverage of every single ball, including the Kia Women’s Test match, on Sky Sports and BBC Radio. It is this level of exposure and support that will ensure that the women’s game continues to grow, and that will inspire women and girls everywhere to play the game.

“England’s 14-player squad named for the first three Royal London ODIs is one of real strength and demonstrates the depth of talent currently running through the England women’s performance programme. I am delighted to see a return for Georgia Elwiss, who has been in superb form with both bat and ball for a while now, and thoroughly deserves her opportunity.”

The Women’s Ashes series will start on July 21st with the first Royal London ODI at the County Ground in Taunton. The players will then play the second Royal London ODI at the Bristol County Ground on 23 July, before the third and final 50-over match takes place at Worcestershire’s New Road on July 26th.

The three Royal London ODIs will carry additional significance for both teams, as they will form England and Australia’s third round of fixtures in the ICC Women’s Championship, which will determine qualification for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England.

The 2015 series will be the third time that the Women’s Ashes have been contested across all three formats of the game – three ODIs, one Test and three T20Is – with two points available for a win in each of the ODIs and T20Is and four points up for grabs for the winner of the Test match. Two points will be awarded to each side in the event of a drawn Test.

England will be hoping to emulate their performances from the first two multi-format Women’s Ashes contests, having won twelve points to four on home soil in 2013 and ten points to eight Down Under in 2014. England’s Women’s Ashes Test squad will be announced following the conclusion of the Royal London ODIs.

England Women’s Ashes ODI squad in full:

Charlotte Edwards (Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Kathryn Cross (Lancashire)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Rebecca Grundy (Warwickshire)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Amy Jones (Warwickshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Natalie Sciver (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)

Women’s Ashes Series 2015:

July 21 Royal London ODI The County Ground, Taunton
July 23 Royal London ODI Bristol County Ground
July 26 Royal London ODI New Road, Worcester

11 – 14 Kia Women’s Test The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence

August 26 NatWest T20I The Essex County Ground, Chelmsford
August 28 NatWest T20I The County Ground, Hove - Click HERE to buy tickets...
August 31 NatWest T20I SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors