View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

WOMENS: Sussex's involvement in the Women's Cricket Super League


Hove was sold out for England Women's T20 clash with Australia back in August

The ECB has today announced the six hosts to compete in the inaugural Women’s Cricket Super League (WCSL) this summer. The announcement follows a rigorous host bid award process over the last six months.

Sussex Cricket is pleased to announce they will be partnering with Hampshire Cricket who will host a WCSL franchise. We believe participation in the tournament for Sussex’s players will be advantageous and we wish the tournament every success.

Sussex made a strategic decision not to place a full bid to host a team in the Women’s Cricket Super League due to a number of factors. We are very proud of the county's record of competition success and of producing international cricketers over recent years. Our commitment in this area means that Sussex has given more opportunities to female cricketers in our Academy than any other first-class county.

Sussex is developing an innovative coaching programme in 2016 with partners which is designed to both help increase participation and enhance performance. We believe that this will create the best way of ensuring a sustainable future for women’s and girls’ cricket in the county.

Zac Toumazi, Chief Executive of Sussex Cricket

The six hosts of WCSL will be :

Hampshire Cricket with partners: Berkshire Cricket Ltd, Dorset Cricket Board, Isle of Wight Cricket Board, Oxfordshire Cricket, Southampton Solent University, Sussex Cricket Ltd, Wiltshire Cricket Ltd

Lancashire County Cricket Board with partners: Lancashire County Cricket Club, Lancashire County Cricket Club Foundation

Loughborough University

South West: Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, University of Exeter

Surrey County Cricket Club

Yorkshire County Cricket Club

The Women’s Cricket Super League will start in the summer of 2016 with the six teams competing in a Twenty20 (T20) event. In future seasons the competition will include both T20 and 50-over formats. All six teams have been awarded hosting rights for a four-year period from 2016-2019 inclusive.

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors