View Latest Scores

Latest News

SCCC News Banner image

WOMENS: Taylor named ICC Womens T20 Cricketer of the Year


Sussex’s Sarah Taylor has been crowned the ICC Womens T20 Cricketer of the Year.

The England wicketkeeper-batsman, who has scored 340 International T20 runs during the voting period, was also involved in 11 dismissals, including seven stumpings.

“A massive thank you for this award”, said the 23 year-old top order batsman (pictured), who has played 40 T20 internationals and averages over 30 with the bat. “I’d like to thank all my team-mates and family for their support and I’m thrilled to have won it”.

England’s Women concluded their five-match T20 series with the West Indies this weekend with two matches in Sussex. On Saturday, a healthy crowd at The PROBIZ County Ground saw them thrash the tourists by 84 runs, with Taylor making 43 and fellow Sussex stars Holly Colvin and Arran Brindle taking three wickets between them. Taylor became the second woman in international T20 history to pass the 1000 run mark with the knock.

On Sunday they were beaten in a thrilling affair at Arundel Castle as the West Indies squeezed home off the final ball of the innings. Taylor was again in fine form with the bat making 34 whilst Colvin’s left-arm spin picked up the wicket of Deandra Dottin who made 62; however England had already long sealed the series win, with it finishing 4-1 to the hosts.

England Women will fly out to Sri Lanka on Wednesday for the ICC World T20 and will play their first match of the competition against Pakistan in Galle, on Thursday 27th September.

England Women’s Captain Charlotte Edwards said: “We tinkered with our batting order and team a bit today all in preparation for Sri Lanka but the girls still put in a fantastic performance. We were just undone by an unbelievable innings by Deandra Dottin, credit to her for a match winning performance.

“We’ll be taking a huge amount of positives from the series; there have been key contributions from a lot of our players over the five matches which is always good with World Cups ahead.

“The bowlers have been fantastic throughout the series and it’s been another really good team performance. We’re going to Sri Lanka with confidence and are really looking forward to the next few weeks.”

England Women squad for the ICC World T20

Charlotte Edwards (Kent) (captain)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Arran Brindle (Sussex)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Holly Colvin (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Susie Rowe (Kent)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

Filter News

Main Sponsors

Official corporate sponsors