SCB Logo

View Latest Scores


SCCC Banner image

OSCAs: Sussex Winners Shortlisted for National Awards

Azam Riyard of Crawley Eagles CC is Shortlisted in the Building Partnerships Category


120 volunteers and loyal servants to the game of cricket in Sussex gathered at the County Ground in Hove for the seventh annual Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs)

Volunteers from over 40 cricket clubs were nominated and invited to the evening, along with a number of guests who have made an outstanding contribution to cricket through their professional role.

Tim Shutt, Head of Cricket Development for the Sussex Cricket Board hosted the evening alongside ex professional cricketer and current Business Relationship Manager, Tony Cottey.

The guests enjoyed a three course meal provided by Sussex's in house catering team and looked on as the category winners received their OSCAs.

All of the winners from the Sussex awards have been invited to Lord's for the National ceremony on Monday 30th September, with three of the winners shortlisted for the National honour at Lord's in front of 400 professionals and fellow volunteers, these are:

Peter Butter (Sussex Cricket League) - Leagues & Boards 

Azam Riyard (Crawley Eagles CC) - Building Partnerships

Mick Waghorn (Bexhill CC) - Lifetime Achiever

If you feel that there is someone at your club that you feel deserves recognition for their efforts and contribution, then please keep an eye out for the nomination forms for the 2014 OSCAs at the beginning of the season.

The 2013 Sussex OSCA Winners were:

Behind the Scenes: Geoff Brailey (Burgess Hill CC)

Building Partnerships: Azam Riyard (Crawley Eagles CC)

Groundsman (Sussex Award): Graham Gardner (St James Montefiore CC)

Leagues & Boards: Peter Butter (Sussex Cricket League)

Lifetime Achiever: Mick Waghorn (Bexhill CC)

NatWest Cricket Force: Gordon Pells (Crowhurst Park CC)

Officials: Ian Farrell (Sussex Cricket League)

Young Volunteer: Will Burrows (Middleton CC)

Main Sponsors

Official Club Partners